The Trinità dei Monti steps, or Spanish steps, are a truly masterful example the 18th-century taste for scenographic works.
They were built in 1723-1726 by the architect, Francesco De Sanctis, in travertine and were arranged in a series of 11 ramps (each ramp being made up of 12 single steps). Along their sinuous upward path, these flights of steps diverge and converge and are interrupted by balustrade structures where visitors may pause during their climb to admire the view over the city.
This imposing construction once provided a link between a part of the city that was, to a considerable extent, occupied by the French and the area below, occupied instead by a colony of Spaniards.
More importantly, the steps provided an architectonic space where people could meet up and relax amid pleasant surroundings.
After a year of restoration work financed by luxury jeweller Bulgari, one of the most iconic and loved places of Rome has turned to the original beauty.
Reopened after restoration
To find out about all accessibility services, visit the accessible Rome section.